24 former students of a famous Hudson Valley college were nominated this year for the prestigious award.

All 24 nominees from the region went to the Culinary Institute of America. While not all of them have stayed local, they did come from local roots. Here are the CIA alumni nominees:

  • Carina Barrera- Best New Restaurant The Charter Oak, St. Helena, CA
  • Anthony Bourdain- Broadcast Media: Documentary 
  • Stuart Brioza- Cookbook: Restaurant & Professional 
  • Michael Cimarusti- Best Chef: West 
  • Johnny Clark- Best Chef: Great Lakes 
  • Camille Cogswell- Rising Star Chef of the Year 
  • Nina Compton- Best Chef: South
  • Abraham Conlon- Best Chef: Great Lakes 
  • Jose Enrique- Best Chef: South 
  • Michael Fojtasek- Best Chef: Southwest 
  • Katianna Hong- Best New Restaurant, The Charter Oak, St. Helena, CA
  • Donald Link- Outstanding Chef 
  • Carlton McCoy- Outstanding Wine Program 
  • Steven McHugh- Best Chef: Southwest 
  • Bonnie Morales- Best Chef: Northwest 
  • Ken Oringer- Outstanding Restaurateur 
  • Stella Parks- Cookbook: Baking & Desserts
  • David Posey- Best Chef: Great Lakes 
  • Sarah Rinkavage- Rising Star Chef of the Year 
  • Martin Rios- Best Chef: Southwest 
  • Alex Stupak-Best New Restaurant, Empellón Midtown, NYC, and Best Chef: New York City 
  • Denise Swidey- Broadcast Media: Best Television Program, on Location 
  • Michael Tusk- Outstanding Restaurant, Quince, San Francisco
  • Cindy Wolf- Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic 

While many of these nominees moved out of state, some still own nominated restaurants in New York State.

Winners of the James Beard Award will be announced on April 27 and May 7.