Snowmobilers Reminded to ‘Never Drink and Ride’
Winter hasn't ended yet and the Department of Environmental Conservation as well as State Police and State Parks want the public to continue following safety protocol when it comes to snowmobiling.
In a press release, the DEC reminds snowmobilers "to never drink and drive, and to ride responsibly while enjoying the state's abundant snowmobile trails."
Acting State Police Superintendent Keith M. Corlett says "There is no excuse for operating any motorized vehicle or device while impaired whether it be a vehicle, snowmobile, boat or ATV. By making responsible and common sense choices, New Yorkers can do their part to keep our trails safe and enjoyable for all."
In New York state, snowmobilers can be charged with Snowmobiling While Intoxicated and Snowmobiling While Ability Impaired. A SWI charge is the equivalent of a DWI which can possibly result in " permanent criminal record, a maximum fine of $1500, up to 90 days in jail, and a 12-month suspension of snowmobiling privileges."
To stay up to date with the latest in snowmobile safety visit the official New York State Parks and Recreation website.
Listen to Afternoons With Taylor weekdays from 2PM to 7PM through your Now 97.7 app. Connect with Now 97.7 on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.
- Where in the Hudson Valley Should 'A Quiet Place 2' Be Filmed?
- What Is A 'Garbage Plate' And Why Doesn't The Hudson Valley Have Them?
- Hudson Valley Schools Dominate As Best in New York
- The 10 Dumbest Laws in NY
- Ulster County Chocolatier Makes The World's Best Chocolate